The Very Hungry Caterpillar Autumn Bundle

Over a year ago, I bought Emma The Very Hungry Caterpillar book for the first time. It was a little present as we were just about to jet off to Melbourne for my brother’s wedding, and I was daunted as ever at the longest flight we had ever taken with a little one. Ever since, she has fallen in love with the book and we read it almost every day. Emma also reads it at nursery and as a group, they have looked after caterpillar and watched them turn into butterflies. Whenever we mention the caterpillar to her, she’ll say to us “big FAT caterpillar…he eats too much!” There’s no doubt The Very Hungry Caterpillar is Emma’s favourite book of all time.

So when I was contacted to review the autumn bundle of The Very Hungry Caterpillar goodies, I was excited as I just knew it would be something Emma would love. I was surprised at the size of the bundle…it was huge! There was lots to get stuck into, including two calendars, a beautiful tin full of colouring books, placemats with colouring in on every sheet, a sectional plate (a parents’ dream if you also have a fussy eater), a lift-the-flap book and cartons of branded apple juice by Cawston Press.

the very hungry caterpillar lift-the-flap book

happy tin with colouring activities

I was so excited to see there was a little tin in the bundle. I once bought Emma a tin and she had such fun putting her little things inside to keep. Inside this one was four felt tip pens and 3 pocket sized colouring books – perfect for taking out and about with us. Emma loves colouring, so this was the first thing she saw in the bundle.

We’ve had great fun reading the lift-the-flap book too. It’s a little different to the original The Very Hungry Caterpillar book with lots of things to spot and look at together. I love books like these as it means we can chat about different things while we are reading and I’ve noticed Emma’s vocabulary is getting improving every day.

the very hungry caterpillar press out and play activity book

colouring in placemats

sectional tray & cawston press apple juice

birthday cards

It’s wonderful discovering new activities with Emma and we loved the Press Out & Play book. It’s comes with 5 wax crayons and inside the book you can make paper versions of all the animals in Eric Carle’s books. A brilliant rainy day activity!

Emma has always been a little fussy with food so having a sectional tray with the caterpillar and all the food he eats, has been a godsend. She loved eating her grapes from her new tray and enjoyed the Cawston Press apple juice too.

The placemats are a brilliant idea too – they are a 30-page pad of paper placemats that you could bring with you when you’re out and about. It means you have something to keep the children occupied before the food comes and with a different design on each page, they hopefully won’t easily get bored.

We were also given two birthday cards, for ages 1 & 2 years old that we’re saving for Emma’s cousin!

the very hungry caterpillar 2018 calendars

We were given two calendars and I was the most excited about these, as we are in dire need of a calendar in the house. One is a straightforward grid view calendar but the family calendar has a column for each person in the family so you can see easily what everyone is doing each day. This will be such a helpful addition!

Product Info:

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Melamine Sectional Tray, £8 – Available from portmeiron.co.uk

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Happy Tin £16.99 – Available from Asda, Sainsbury’s, Tesco, Amazon

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Press Out and Play £4.99 Available from Asda, Sainsbury’s, Tesco, Amazon

Where Is The Very Hungry Caterpillar book £7.99 Available from all good bookshops

The Very Hungry Caterpillar placemats pad £7.99 Available from The Works

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Calendars £9.99 each Available from The Calendar Club and Amazon

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Cloudy Apple Juice £1.89 for 3 x 200ml Available from Waitrose, Ocado and Tesco

The Very Hungry Caterpillar age cards £2.25 each Available from independent card and gift shops

A huge thank you to the team at The Very Hungry Caterpillar for sending us the autumn bundle to review! As always all words and opinions are my own.

45 Comments

  1. September 21, 2017 / 3:08 pm

    Bridget, I’ve never heard of The Very Hungry Caterpillar, so I’m glad you blogged about it – looks like great gift items for some of my youngest little friends!

  2. September 26, 2017 / 6:02 am

    I love everything Eric Carle!! #DreamTeam

  3. September 26, 2017 / 7:00 am

    It’s great to see a classic favourite adapting what a great set of goodies, loving the look of th activties and the reminder stickers.

  4. September 26, 2017 / 7:02 am

    The Popple loves The Very Hungry Caterpillar – we have the book plus a buggy book from when she was a baby, and she loves it when she ‘reads’ the buggy book while I read the ‘big’ book. They have lot of the same pictures, so she points them out and says, “They’re the same!” #dreamteam

  5. September 26, 2017 / 7:02 am

    My eldest loves the Very Hungry Caterpillar and I can remember it so vividly from my own childhood. These products all look amazing, love the colouring set x #dreamteam

  6. September 26, 2017 / 8:45 am

    What a fabulous bundle! I must admit we don’t have the Hungry Caterpillar in our collection yet…I think I need to rectify this!! #DreamTeam xxx

  7. September 26, 2017 / 10:55 am

    o.m.g. I love all things hungry caterpillar, ever since it has been around it holds a special place in my heart, I just love the story and the illustration so much X #dreamteam

  8. September 26, 2017 / 11:26 am

    All three of my kids have just loved this book – it’s so simple but yet so gripping. And now my little boy can read it again and again and again! We have a lovely mug too. It’s such a classic. #DreamTeam

  9. September 26, 2017 / 12:07 pm

    What a fab bundle of goodies – look how pleased she is with the colouring book! I love that. #dreamteam

  10. September 26, 2017 / 12:20 pm

    This is a fab bundle! What a superb idea… this book is a best-seller; I don’t know one kid who hasn’t read it either at home or at school.
    #DreamTeam

  11. September 26, 2017 / 5:37 pm

    This is great. I have to say I love his Firefly book and love the way the fireflies light up at the end, a great bedtime story. #DreamTeam

  12. September 26, 2017 / 7:01 pm

    I’ve always loved the hungry Caterpillar, even at school. I think i’ll be rushing off to buy the colouring book for myself 😉

  13. September 26, 2017 / 7:11 pm

    What a fantastic bundle. We love the hungry caterpillar in our house too. My daughter still remembers that one time I ‘acted’ out the book with added funny voices. #DreamTeam

  14. kimberleyf1988
    September 26, 2017 / 8:05 pm

    We’re big fans of The Very Hungry Caterpillar in our house. This loooks like a great haul – will have to keep an eye out for the life-the-flap book 🙂 #DreamTeam

  15. September 26, 2017 / 9:22 pm

    Im a massive hungry caterpillar fan and really should get the book for Ben! #dreamteam

  16. September 26, 2017 / 9:30 pm

    We’re fans of The Very Hungry Caterpillar in our house too! It looks like a fantastic bundle #dreamteam

  17. September 26, 2017 / 10:15 pm

    I adore Eric Carle – we have almost all his books. Did you know the Nazi’s almost squashed his love of colour out of him? #DreamteaM

  18. Tracey Abrahams
    September 26, 2017 / 11:18 pm

    The very hungry is one of the few stories that my eldest actually loved having read to him as a little one. Im surprised at the huge range of things they now make to go with the book. #dreamteam

  19. September 27, 2017 / 10:31 am

    Ah my youngest daughter had this book – it was also a flip one. So colourful – a great book.#DreamTeam

  20. mummyswhineclub
    September 27, 2017 / 11:06 am

    oh! The hungry caterpillar is a big hit in my house! Who wouldn’t want to eat their greens of a ‘hungry caterpillar’ plate! #dreamteam

  21. September 27, 2017 / 11:20 am

    Wow what an amazing bundle to receive! Clem is a big fan of the hungry caterpillar as well. She watched it on the plane on the way to holiday. We don’t actually own the book but when we rented it from the library she didn’t want to give it back. #DreamTeam

  22. September 27, 2017 / 12:57 pm

    #dreamteam this is cool, my son isn’t a fan of this book – i blooming loved it. Perhaps i could get one for myself?

  23. September 27, 2017 / 2:19 pm

    My little one loves the book and I mus have read it a million times. We even have the books in multiple languages. #dreamteam

  24. Su (ethannevelyn.com)
    September 27, 2017 / 4:51 pm

    What a wonderful bundle. I’m a big fan of the plate, it looks awesome.

  25. beckyhemsley
    September 27, 2017 / 9:16 pm

    Oh wow we love the Very Hungry Caterpillar in our house! These look fab – I especially love the plate! #dreamteam

  26. September 27, 2017 / 9:25 pm

    We love The Very Hungry Caterpillar too and still have an outdoor activity book which we’ve been using for years. Love how the range has expanded x Looks great! #DreamTeam

  27. September 27, 2017 / 9:32 pm

    Oh these all look great! We love the very hungry caterpillar! #dreamteam

  28. September 27, 2017 / 11:25 pm

    We love The Hungry Caterpillar! I never knew there was so many different things!!!

    Stopping by from #dreamteam

  29. September 28, 2017 / 9:37 am

    I can’t wait to relive this book and all the new additions with little when they arrive. So much to tie into the classic old story. I’m hoping to make a quilt or nursery items with some fabrics I found #dreamteam

  30. September 28, 2017 / 12:42 pm

    What a great bundle! I especially like the sectional plate!

  31. September 28, 2017 / 2:34 pm

    I LOVE the very hungry caterpillar! Amelia was bought a great puzzle when she was smaller that she still loves. I’ve never bought the book but that’s because she has her dads original copy from when he was her age! It was her favourite story for months! #dreamteam

  32. September 28, 2017 / 7:51 pm

    I love love love this book and the bundle looks fab! I have my eye on the calendar especially as we’ve had a family planner for the first time th8s year and it’s a godsend now that my biggest little is at school and therefore her social life now dominates mine haha. Love this Bridget xx

  33. September 29, 2017 / 11:26 am

    What a fab bundle! My Leo loves the hungry caterpillar too, I love it as I can remember being read it as a child. Emma looks so happy here xx #dreamteam

  34. September 29, 2017 / 12:18 pm

    I love how stories like The hungry caterpillar have stood the test of time. We love it in our house too x
    #dreamteam

  35. September 29, 2017 / 1:28 pm

    We love The Very Hungry Caterpillar – it’s a classic. I think the plate is a great idea, and I love the photos of Emma using the products – so cute! #dreamteam

  36. September 29, 2017 / 3:18 pm

    It’s a great classic to have within an early years setting. We’ve got rather a large copy that we enjoy reading together here. #DreamTeam

  37. September 30, 2017 / 6:22 am

    This looks like a really great bundle. We love the hungry caterpillar and it will forever hold a special place in my heart as my youngest’s first ever outfit was a hungry caterpillar babygro x
    #DreamTeam

  38. September 30, 2017 / 8:40 pm

    Her face doing that colouring! So damn cute. We are huge fans of the very hungry caterpillar (well, the basic board book so far) so this sounds right up our street. #dreamteam

  39. October 1, 2017 / 7:55 pm

    My children both loved The Hungry Caterpillar as did I when I was a child! I love that they do lots of other merch now too! #dreamteam (oh and a big congratulations on your award!! xx)

  40. October 1, 2017 / 10:23 pm

    I remember the Very Hungry Caterpillar from my own childhood and am pleased it is still so popular with my own children. Love all the extensions now available such as colouring etc #dreamteam

  41. October 2, 2017 / 5:58 pm

    What a great bundle! My daughter loves this book too, I got it second hand for 50p and it’s well loved! #DreamTeam

Leave a Reply