Decorating Emma’s Room with Betsy Benn

We’ve been living in our house for two years now and in the last month or so, both my other half and I have been craving to make little changes to our home. It’s funny how life with a toddler leaves you with not a lot of time to go the extra mile and make the house look nice! However, six months of working from home has made us eager to make those changes we had planned when we moved in.

Emma’s room is one of the first spaces we decided to renovate, as it was clear it needed the most work. We have completely changed it, as it had a chipwood desk taking up most of the small room. It also had dark grey walls, so before she moved into the room, we  painted them an eggshell colour with a pale yellow skirting board. Ever since, I’ve been keen to make those final touches to the room, so when Betsy Benn got in touch to see if we’d try out one of her beautiful prints, I was really excited to see how it would fit in.

Wide angle shot of Emma's chest of drawers with Betsy Benn print

At Betsy Benn, you’ll find personalised and bespoke print designs for the home that are truly beautiful. Reading more about the background to Betsy’s business, one thing is crystal clear – she has such passion for what she does. I’ve always been a huge supporter of small businesses but I felt so pleased to have found Betsy Benn and wasn’t surprised to read that Betsy Benn won Best Product of the Year Award at the NotontheHighStreet.com Make Awards. Each print is designed specifically for that person’s story, making it unique and so special.

We chose the ‘Our Family Story’ print, as I’ve always thought it is such a lovely way to remember the family highlights over the years. I sat down with the boys and Emma too to chat about what we’d like to include. As a blended family, it took a little thinking as to our stand out moments. Sometimes it’s easy to forget the years we spent together before Emma came along and it was such a gorgeous thing to do together that made us all nostalgic.

The process to put together our print was firstly to choose our 16 key moments; spanning from when my other half and I met to meeting James (my stepson) for the first time…all the way to when Emma arrived and the adventures we’ve been on as a foursome ever since. We also chose 3 key years and 3 illustrations to accompany the circular shaped story. After double-checking the details, it was then sent off to the graphic designer to be created and a few days later we had a maginificent framed print to put in Emma’s room.

Close Up of Emma letters with Betsy Benn print in the background

Close Up of Betsy Benn print against the bookcase

I was really impressed with the quality of the print and frame when it arrived – immediately I thought how special it is to receive something like this. For that reason, it would make such a thoughtful Christmas or birthday gift. It was meticulously printed with not a detail out of place; I was thrilled! One of the lovely touches that I didn’t expect was a few extra sentences, ‘Once Upon A Time’, ‘Long Ago Not So Very Long Ago’ and ‘In This Whole Wide World’ that I hadn’t asked for specifically but really brought the whole story together.

Emma’s room is now looking beautiful and for the first time, I feel like it is ‘complete’. It made me quite emotional seeing all our memories so beautifully framed and I wouldn’t hesitate getting another framed print in the future. My other half is a huge music fan so the Retro Cassette Playlist Print would be perfect for him! It’s also a running joke in our family that he still has boxes of cassettes when we don’t have any way to play them 😉 The Story Of Us Print retails at £55 (A3 size) & the Retro Cassette Playlist Print (A3 size) is £35 unframed. Both can be framed from £70 each.

Huge thanks to Betsy Benn for gifting us The Story Of Us print for the purpose of this review – all opinions and words are my own.

31 Comments

  1. November 9, 2017 / 7:57 pm

    I love the fabric on the top of the cabinet and the frame is so cool X #thursdayteam

  2. November 14, 2017 / 7:01 am

    What a beautiful print! I love how it tells a story and the fact that you all decided on the story together. #dreamteam

  3. November 14, 2017 / 7:01 am

    What a beautiful print. I love personalised touches such as this! #dreamteam

  4. November 14, 2017 / 7:02 am

    I absolutely love the letters for her name, they are adorable! #DreamTeam

  5. November 14, 2017 / 7:16 am

    This is such a beautiful picture to hang in your home. I love how it captures key memories and moments in your life. I’m desperate to make changes in our house too, so many unfinished corners. As you say though, having kids is such a time drain! Great review x #dreamteam

  6. November 14, 2017 / 7:22 am

    This print is absolutely gorgeous – I am going to check them out! I love the letters too – I must get some for Josh xx #dreamteam

  7. November 14, 2017 / 7:30 am

    You’re absolutely right. This would make a lovely gift. I’ve recently received one similar and was thrilled with it. So personal!

    #dreamteam

  8. November 14, 2017 / 8:45 am

    I love things like this, unique and special to you and your family. Im a hoarder of all things memory wise as I think its so nice to look back on in years to come and remember the things you have done in the past and this idea is perfect xx #DreamTeam

  9. November 14, 2017 / 11:08 am

    The print is beautiful,what a gorgeous feature for a room #DreamTeam

  10. November 14, 2017 / 11:23 am

    What a lovely print and a great personalised item for a room! We need to renovate a couple of rooms in our house too! #DreamTeam

  11. November 14, 2017 / 11:38 am

    What a lovely addition! #dreamteam

  12. November 14, 2017 / 11:45 am

    That story of us print is such a lovely idea #DreamTeam

  13. November 14, 2017 / 11:54 am

    What a lovely way to frame your memories, it really adds some colour to the room without it being overpowering and a bonus that you can move it around or hang it up as the room changes. #DreamTeam

  14. mammasschool
    November 14, 2017 / 12:23 pm

    This print and the idea behind it is so lovely (I also have some old cassettes with nothing to play them on…sssshhhhh…) #dreamteam

  15. November 14, 2017 / 12:41 pm

    What a gorgeous room, I love all her little trinkets and that print is lovely #dreamteam

  16. EmmaMc
    November 14, 2017 / 1:00 pm

    What a gorgeous print, such a lovely touch to a room. I really like personal prints and have a few around the house. Where did you get the patchwork fabric from? It’s beautiful! #dreamteam

  17. Something About Baby
    November 14, 2017 / 1:10 pm

    What a beautiful print! I love things like this and think this would actually go nicely in our porch area for people to see when they come in the house! #DreamTeam

  18. November 14, 2017 / 4:35 pm

    Oh that is so lovely! It would make a beautiful gift too. #dreamteam

  19. November 14, 2017 / 8:02 pm

    What a gorgeous print! Would make a lovely gift.

    #DreamTeam

  20. November 15, 2017 / 8:54 am

    This looks so pretty. I love the frame and the animal print bookholder.#DreamTeam

  21. November 15, 2017 / 12:58 pm

    I love that print – much more than just art! #dreamteam

  22. November 16, 2017 / 1:55 am

    I know what you mean about it taking forever to get to home improvements with a toddler. We’ll be getting to his room first too, one of these days. #dreamteam

  23. November 16, 2017 / 8:05 am

    This is such a lovely idea for a Christmas gift and I love that it captures your story. Love hosting #DreamTeam with you! Dx

  24. November 16, 2017 / 11:23 am

    I do love personalised items/gifts. I think they make a room much more I interesting x
    #dreamteam

  25. November 17, 2017 / 10:24 am

    Those name letters are stunning. A lovely space for her #dreamteam

  26. November 17, 2017 / 2:06 pm

    Love this! Personalised items are always a win in my book! #dreamteam

  27. November 19, 2017 / 5:17 pm

    That print is so impressive Bridget. It’s really pretty and such a lovely addition of artwork to any room! I love typographical pieces so this is right up my street. Thanks for being such a fab host over on the #dreamteam xx

  28. November 20, 2017 / 7:03 pm

    I love the large letters that spell out her name! Fun! We have those for both littles, in different styles and it is so nice for them. Personalization is always good for the kinder! #lovely #dreamteam xoxo

  29. November 20, 2017 / 8:55 pm

    This is so beautiful! I love all the little extra touches too! I’ve sat and read through all of your memories on the print and it’s just lovely! #DreamTeam

  30. November 23, 2017 / 5:40 pm

    What a grand idea Betsy Benn had! It’s such a wonderful way to display your family story. Emma’s room looks lovely.

Leave a Reply